RSS

I am special because…

01 Dec

My daughter brought home an assignment from kindergarden this fall that still echoes in my heart.  She was charged with the task of finishing this sentence, “I’m special because…” The natural expectation of someone answering this question would be to have them compile a list of the things that they do well; things that set them apart and make them shine. Things like, “I’m funny, I can sing, I can dance, I am nice” are typical answers.  Out of the heart and through the crayon of my daughter came a phrase that inspired me to me more childlike then I am.  Her response was, “I am special because my Mommy and Daddy love me.”

Wow!

Would that my life be marked with the truth that I am special because, and only because, my heavenly father loves me!  To know and believe that in the depths of my soul and let it cut through all of the noise that I try and find my worth in, would free me to a place of intimacy with God that the trappings and false hopes that this life produce would fade to the smallness that they are, and I would be free to be me.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “I am special because…

  1. Craig Paulson

    December 1, 2011 at 11:21 am

    God’s love for us is omnipresent as it encompasses all that we are, have been, and are to be. Only the Lord knows all that we do, say, and think. In spite of our pride, our blemishes, our times living in ways that are not responsive to the unconditional love of the Lord, He is steadfast and the source of all goodness. Three thoughts immediately come to mind for me.

    The first is something that Patti and I shared consistently when our family was young and we continue to seek to convey to all of our family members – no matter what we always will love and be present each individual. There is nothing that could be done, said, or thought by our sons, daughters, and grandchildren that would separate us from loving and supporting each person. Since this is what the Lord does for us, how could we respond in any other manner to His unconditional love?

    The second is how we have to rely upon the Lord and those around us to truly embrace forgiveness and self-forgiveness. Forgiveness is manifesting and sharing redemptive grace. Sharing in divine grace and integrating forgiveness are a couple of the lynch pins of the practical experience of faith, love, and hope.

    The third is that when we seek to allow the His Holy Spirit to work in us and through us to others, we are freed from the shackles of self-interest. Hopefully we can reflect authenticity, intellectual flexibility, graciousness, honesty, clarity, compassion, and humility as we live lives committed to faith, love, and hope. In contrast to the worldly dynamics contrasting right-wrong, win-lose, power-caring, love-hate, servant hearts – self interest, we are freed to emphasize building positive relationships and grace in all actions, statements, and thoughts. (Yes, I can hear my mom’s reminder about run-on sentences, but isn’t that what a blog is for?)

     
    • Greg Johnson

      December 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Oh how we have to resist the temptation to say, “that’s so cute!” lest we miss the truth that both of you have so eloquetly communicated. Having just finished Richard Rohr’s book, Falling Upward I am even more convinced how vital it is for us (maybe just me) who are in the second half of life to model “being” rather than “doing” as what gives life meaning.

       
  2. Mom

    December 1, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Not as profound, but truly the best part of being a parent is seeing your son also become a parent so that he knows how unconditional love can be. Yet our love is so incomplete compared to God’s love. Incomprehensible.

     

Leave a Reply

 
